what time do polls open and who are the candidates running against Sadiq Khan?

Will Sadiq Khan win a second term as London mayor?

As of May 5, Mr Khan is currently leading polls, with 62 per cent to Mr Bailey’s 38 per cent in the second round of polls, according to recent Politico survey data. 

How can I vote for the next London mayor?

You can vote in person at your local polling station today, May 6, or if you can’t attend on the day, by post or by proxy (nominating someone to vote on your behalf).

The deadline to register to vote in person closed on April 19, while the deadline to register for a postal vote closed on April 20.

If you want to vote in person, you can’t just turn up to any polling station – you have to go to the one you’re assigned to. 

Your polling card, which you will have received through the post, is the easiest way to find out where you are registered to vote. It will include the name and address of your designated polling station. 

If you’ve not received your polling card but you know you have registered, give your local council a call to check. You can find the contact details by using the postcode finder tool on the About My Vote website.

By proxy voting applications closed in April, although emergency proxy votes will be available up until 5pm on election day if voters need to self-isolate due to Covid-19.

When will the results be announced?

Vote counting will begin at 7am on Friday, May 7. The process is expected to take longer due to coronavirus precautions, and a final result is not anticipated until the afternoon of Saturday, May 8, at the earliest. 

Source link

Leave a Comment